Students in the department are encouraged to get pursue their interests outside the classroom. These outlets provide additional arenas for learning and networking. Moreover, they serve as a place where likeminded people can come together. Get involved.

American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages:
This is the only national organization dedicated to the improvement and expansion of the teaching and learning of all languages at all levels of instruction. ACTFL is an individual membership organization of foreign language educators and administrators from elementary through graduate education, as well as government and industry.

Chinese Club :
Meetings are the 1st and 4th Wednesdays of every month. Members will engage in a language based activity from 4:00 - 5:00 pm TSC floor 3, room TBD. An additional culture based activity is organized monthly. President: Justin Van Noy j.vannoy91@gmail.com Mentor: Professor Ko-Yin Sung, KoYin.Sung@usu.edu

Communication Studies Club: 
Must apply to be accepted. President Sara Favero sara.favero13@gmail.com  Vice President Morgan Burns morg.burns@gmail.com  Mentor John Seiter  john.seiter@usu.edu

Lambda Pi Eta (Jota Mu Chapter) Communication Honors Society:
President: Sadie Crabb, kayde.d.a@gmail.com. Mentor: Professor Matthew Sanders, matt.sanders@usu.edu, meetings vary.

LeCercle Francais (French Club)
Mentor: Elizabeth Abell elizabeth.abell@usu.edu or the.usu.french.club@gmail.com Facebook: USU French Club
Time and Place: Every other Wednesday  from  6:30-7:30 p.m. in Old Main 301

German Club: President: David Gamble David.b.gamble001@gmail.com  Mentors: Dr. Doris McGonagill, doris.mcgonagill@usu.edu
Dr. Claudia Schwabe  claudia.schwabe@usu.edu

Global Communication Club:
President: Lusine Dokhoyan 
lusine.dokhoyan@aggiemail.usu.edu  Mentor: Jason Gilmore  jason.gilmore@usu.edu

Japanese Club
Our purpose is to bring together Japanese and American students with fun, interesting activities through cultural exchange between Japan and America. We have many different events throughout the semester, and we try hard to involve everyone in learning more about Japan. Examples of events we hold include Sports Day, Valentines Day, New Years and Halloween parties, as well as movie nights and events where we learn about the history of Japan and the Japanese people.
Mentors: Atsuko Neely atsuko.neely@usu.edu  Yurika Izumi  yurika.izumi@usu.edu
USU JAPAN CLUB  japanclubusu14@gmail.com

Medical Unity - Medical Spanish Club
President: James Rohwer 
usumedicalunity@gmail.com  Club Advisor: Professor Jilda Yap  jilda.yap@usu.edu

Middle East Club
President: Porter Illi, porter.noilli@gmail.com, Mentor: Abdulkafi Albirini, abdulkafi.albirini@usu.edu

MSLT Club
The MSLT club provides a platform for current and former MSLT students to connect, share, and collaborate in practices of second langauge teaching and in critical discussion of current research of second language acquisition.
Advisor: Karin DeJong-Kannan  karin.dejongkan@usu.edu   President: Katie Reynolds  Katie.Reynolds@aggiemail.usu.edu
Secretary: Elizabeth Abell  elizabeth.abell@usu.edu   Facebook page  https://www.facebook.com/groups/USU.MSLT/

Philosophy Club: 
T
he club is open to all who are interested in philosophy. The purpose of the club is to give members and visitors the opportunity to do philosophy, to bring together students and faculty in an atmosphere of mutual learning, to promote philosophy in the local community, to provide social activities and events for members and visitors and, in the spirit of Plato's Academy, to provide a forum for the discussion of all issues in the domain of philosophy. Mentor: Professor Charlie Huenemann, charlie.huenemann@usu.edu or 435-797-0254  usuphilosophy.com/

Phi Sigma Iota:
This is the highest academic honor in the field of foreign languages. This honor society recognizes outstanding accomplishment in the study or teaching of academic fields related to foreign language, literature, or culture. These fields include foreign languages, as well as classic languages, linguistics, philology, comparative literature, bilingual education, second language acquisition, and other interdisciplinary programs with a significant foreign language component. Phi Sigma Iota promotes the principles of dedication, enthusiasm, and initiative at both the graduate and undergraduate level by encouraging leadership opportunities in chapter development and scholarship awards.

Portuguese Club-:
Mentor: Rubynara Carvalho rubynara.carvalho@usu.edu (435) 797-5791
Meetings:

Phi Sigma Tau:
This honor society awards students who have high scholarship and personal interest in philosophy, promotes student interest in research and advanced study of philosophy, provides opportunities for the publication of student research papers of merit, encourages a professional spirit and friendship among those who have displayed prime ability in this field, and popularizes interest in philosophy among the general collegiate public. Mentor: Charlie Huenemann  charlie.huenemann@usu.edu  usuphilosophy.com/

Spanish Ambassadors
They occur bimonthly at the TSC Service Center.Spam@aggiemail.usu.edu Program Director: Aaron Oborn  apoborn@gmail.com
Advisor: Michelle Allgood  allgoodmk@gmail.com

USU Spanish Club:
The club meets every Friday  at 3:30 p.m. in Old Main Basement Lounge
President: Jorri Falslev jorri.falslev@aggiemail.usu.edu Advisor: Felipe Valencia felipe.valencia@usu.edu 

USU Speech and debate club:
This is a small group that competes against approximately 32 schools and programs from the states of Alaska, Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and Montana. The team took first place in the Pi Kappa Delta National Comprehensive Tournament in 2010. USU is the only school from the state of Utah in the Northwest Forensic Conference. Being part of the Speech and Debate Team helps students improve skills in public speaking, research, politics, and more. Mentor: Tom WorthenDrTom@poeticpower.com   DrTom@poeticpower.com